qiime phylogeny error + DADA2/other questions

Hello! I'm re-doing an analysis on mixed amplicons (16S and ITS) and received an error I didn't receive previously during the qiime phylogeny (see the first screenshot) section (I've been following the Moving Pictures tutorial with Casava1.8 paired-end demultiplexed fastq; my samples were also dual indexed). I compared my notes from last time and I changed the trimming/truncating parameters.

Previous analysis:

--p-trim-left-f 54
--p-trim-left-r 54
--p-trunc-len-f 301
--p-trunc-len-r 280

Current analysis:

--p-trim-left-f 61
--p-trunc-len-f 300
--p-trim-left-r 64
--p-trunc-len-r 220

My rationale for changing my trimming parameters was because I forgot to add the indexes in the past and added them in my current analysis. My length of primers + indexes are below:

• 16S F + index = 53 + 8 = 61
  • 16S R + index = 56 + 8 = 64
  • ITS F + index = 57 + 8 = 65
  • ITS R + index = 58 + 8 = 66

I'm still learning and I have multiple questions:

1. My samples are paired-end de-multiplexed (Casava1.8 paired-end), dual indexed, and mixed amplicons. Should I be using "qiime cutadapt demux-paired" to remove my indexes? If so, would this be before DADA2?
  2. If I use qiime cutadapt to remove my barcodes (or indexes) before DADA2, does this mean it was wrong of me to include the indexes when I was trimming? (My gut feeling is saying yes)
  3. Because I have mixed amplicons, should I be separating ITS and 16S before DADA2? If so, how and what resources would be a good starting point?
  4. Related to Question 3, I saw a previous post which said that DADA2 is fine with mixed amplicons and suggested using "qiime feature-classifier extract-reads". Would others recommend this approach? If I were to use this approach, which primer length would I use when trimming (16S or ITS)?