Q2-deblur questions

Hello,
I used q2-deblur to clean my sequences using this command:

deblur workflow --seqs-fp name.fasta --output-dir test -t 420

and I have few questions about this.

1. My sequences were demultiplexed and each sequence was labeled with the sample name. After the analysis, the labels disappeared. How can I change this? I would like to keep the sample names linked to each sequence.
  2. My sequences are from euks, not bacteria. Should I use a different command for euks? Not sure I totally got how deblur is working. Sorry!
  3. Can I convert the biom file that I got with deblur using qiime? I used to use Qiime 1.9 but I am new to QIIME 2.

Thank you so much for your help,

Francesca

Hi @ranocchia,
While you installed deblur through the QIIME 2 plugin, you’re not using it through QIIME 2 when you call it this way. The command that you’re running here is part of the deblur software package, which is used by q2-deblur (the QIIME 2 plugin). I realize this is a bit confusing, but the deblur package has it’s own command line interface, and that’s what you’re accessing here. To use deblur through QIIME 2, you’d call qiime deblur --help (for example).

You’re not required to use deblur through QIIME 2, but if you want to go that route, I recommend that you start by working through the QIIME 2 documentation, as there are a few concepts that you’ll need to be familiar with. The Getting Started page describes what we think is the best path through the documentation.

I’m going to leave your deblur-related questions to @wasade, who is the developer of the q2-deblur plugin as I’m not very familiar with its methods. @wasade, would you be able to help @ranocchia with the deblur-specific questions here?

Thanks for your interest in QIIME 2 @ranocchia, and sorry for the confusion!

3 Likes

Thanks, @gregcaporaso.