Problems with importing data

Hello, I am relatively new to qiime. I am using the version QIIME2 (2018.8) and I am facing problems with importing the data.

The data is paired end sequencing data generated from HiSeq-PE 250 for 30 samples. I have two separate file one for forward and one for reverse in fastq.gz format.

I have tried all the tutorials but somehow I am not able to solve my issue. It would be great if someone can help me.

Thank you in advance.

Where are your barcodes? If they are part of the sequences, you should follow this tutorial. If they are in separate barcode files, you should use the EMP paired end format described in the importing tutorial.

Good luck!

I don’t have a barcode.fastq.gz file but the are in a separate metadata file along with primer sequence and I have raw sequences with barcodes

So there you have it — use the tutorial I linked to above (cutadapt). Good luck!

qiime tools import \ --type MultiplexedSingleEndBarcodeInSequence \ --input-path /home/ice.mpg.de/pmehta/ITS_DATA/analysis/raw_pair_end_reads_demultiplexed^C \ --output-path multiplexed-seqs.qza
Usage: qiime tools import [OPTIONS]

Error: Missing option “–type”.

this is the error that is showing up, can you please help me with this

I have 30 samples, each with a file which has raw tags after reads merging. I combined all these fastq files into one fastq file and then converted into merged.fastq.gz format.

At this point I have one merged.fastq.gz and a metadata file.

Hi @pmehta!
Is the ^C in your input-path argument part of the actual file path, or is that a typo/artifact of some kind?

1 Like

Hii,

No that is some error.

I have used following command:

qiime tools import
–type MultiplexedPairedEndBarcodeInSequence
–input-path qiime2
–output-path multiplexed-seqs.qza

here qiime2 is name of directory where I have stored two files: forward.fastq.gz and reverse.fastq.gz

and when I run it in terminal, I get following error:

There was a problem importing qiime2: