Problem in installing Qiime 2 in Ubuntu18.04LTS

I tried to install QIIME 2 in our work station which contains Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, but failed. Can you please suggest me the version of UBUNTU where QIIME 2 can be installed and used properly?

Hi @SUNANDA,
Welcome to the forum!
Though I’m not an expert in these situations personally, I and many others have successfully installed qiime2 on 18.04 LTS, so the issue is not the Ubuntu version. Could you please provide us with exactly what you have done so far to install qiime2 and what errors you are getting along the way. Exact commands and errors would especially help. There are a lot of moving parts here so we would need a lot more information to troubleshoot this any further. Thanks!

1 Like

Thank you very much for the information.

We first downloaded and installed Qiime deploy from (https://github.com/qiime2) and then followed the given procedure to install Qiime. We also have installed Python 3.3.

The commands and the simultaneous error messages are as follows:

Command: tar zxvf qiime-deploy-qiime.tgz

Error message: tar (child): qiime-deploy-qiime.tgz: Cannot open: No such file or directory

tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now

tar : Child returned status 2

Command: python qiime-deploy.py $HOME/qiime_software/ -f etc/qiime.conf

Error message: python: can’t open file ‘qiime-deploy.py’: [Errno 2]

It would be very helpful if you can please suggest some ways how to deal with this errors. I will be very obliged if you can please tell me (if possible) the installation procedure step by step so that I can try once again to install Qiime 2.

Hi @SUNANDA,

Have you tried installing qiime2 through its recommended miniconda installation? The full installation process is super easy and in my opinion much better on a shared system if its self-contained. The installation is described fully here.