Next steps following Importing demultiplexed sequences data in Casava format

I am new to use QIIME2 after the QIIME workshop. I have imported our paired-end demultiplex data into QIIME2 following the Casava Format. I am trying to explore how to get the next analysis steps so that I can following analysis as in the tutorial sections? Do I need to join the paired-end sequence into one sequence or any other pre-processing steps before following the tutorial steps? Please guide me and thank you so much!

1 Like

Hi @Bing,
It sounds like you should now be ready to follow the workflow presented in the Moving Pictures tutorial. qiime dada2 denoise-paired will join the paired-end reads for you. Let us know if you run into any issues!

Hi @gregcaporaso
Thank you for your immediate response. I have created the demux-paired-end.qza. Then I go to “Moving picture tutorial” and jumped over “the demultiplexing sequence”, and directly go to “Sequence quality control”, is that right? I got the errors. See below and please guide me:

(qiime2-2017.2) Jinbings-iMac:qiime2 jinbingbai$ ls
casava-18-paired-end-demultiplexed	untitled folder
demux-paired-end.qza
(qiime2-2017.2) Jinbings-iMac:qiime2 jinbingbai$ qiime dada2 plot-qualities \
> --i-demultiplexed-seqs demux-paired-end.qza \
> --p-n 10 \
> --o-visualization demux-paired-end-qual-pilots.qzv
    Plugin error from dada2:

Command '['profile_quality.R',
      '/var/folders/sd/vlrr9d916gg5qj3yzzf3srfw0000gn/T/qiime2-archive-esbp6
      kpb/f87e89c9-0ca1-44b6-b4fe-a0ec8f441cfb/data/DBR21181_GYN6015Visit1_P
      re_RTAliquot_1_S5_L001_R1_001.fastq.gz', '/var/folders/sd/vlrr9d916gg5
      qj3yzzf3srfw0000gn/T/qiime2-temp-a77wcy73']' returned non-zero exit
      status 1

Re-run with --verbose to see debug info. 

What should I do for the plugin?

My data is “demultiplexed paired-end data”. I did not run the “qiime demux…”, how can I run the demux summarize to view the Demultiplexed sequence counts summary.