New to Qiime and have questions on installing and setting up Qiime on Ubuntu 16.04 in vSphere v6.7

I originally posted this on the Qiime 1 forum and was told to post my questions here. Sorry for any confusion.

Hello, I am a Linux System Admin and I work in a research facility where a few doctors, scientists and researchers have reached out to me to setup Qiime on Ubuntu 16.04 in VMWare vSphere. They want to have two Ubuntu VMs, one with Qiime v1 and the other with Qiime v2. Most of them want to do their work on the VM with Qiime v1, since they are very familiar with that version and start to learn more about Qiime v2 with the other VM.

I don’t know much about the software and I’ve been reading this Google Group along with the website and I have a few questions, in the hopes of getting the setup correct.

• When I build, I like to optimize the VM to the best of my ability. Looks like I can allocate one data disc in vSphere to host the Ubuntu VM. Will this be ok? The people that I’m supporting are asking for 1 TB size VMs as they are processing very large samples (I think this is the correct term).

• I will use paravirtual scsi adapters for connections, unless others have other recommendations.

• I want to setup multiple partitions in the Ubuntu VM, such as /var, /var/tmp/, /tmp, /opt, /home, and /usr/local. Will this cause an issue or are there recommendation partitions with working with Qiime?

• Looks like Qiime doesn’t use a daemon, but reminds me of python pip. Where from a Bash Shell prompt, the end user can type “qiime” and it changes the prompt to show 'qiime" and they can start their work with the software. From shadowing these users looks like do most of the software work from their home directory. Should I allocate more space to /home directories due to this?

Hope these questions are clear and thanks in advance.

• Chris
1 Like

Hi Chris!

That sounds like a good approach!