My libraries contain reads from _two_ variable regions - how can I proceed with the analysis?

Hi everyone, I tried to find a similar post on here but didn’t see one, so my apologies if this is a duplicate.
I have microbiome data from honeybee guts (38 samples). I am trying to understand the community structure so I am looking for taxonomy bar charts, alpha, and beta diversity, etc. Similar to the moving pictures tutorial.
Initially, I amplified the variable regions, both the V1-V3 and the V4, using NextFlex kits from Bioo Scientific. Everything was pooled for sequencing on MiSeq, 300 cycles, paired ends. This was my first time doing this sort of experiment, and I didn’t consider that the indexes for both kits were the same, so, for example, all my day 1, hive 1 reads have the same index, whether they are V1-V3 or V4 regions.
I am new to Qiime (and Qiime2) and I would like to try to replicate the data types from the moving pictures tutorial, but I am not sure what the best steps are for classification. The regions are different enough they shouldn’t align to the same area, so I can run them through Silva, but I worry that some species will be greatly over/underrepresented if I analyze them all together, depending on the reference databases used. Is this a reasonable concern, or should it not matter? I know that taxonomic resolution for different species can be better/worse depending on the region.
Is there a way to align sequences to the V1-V3 region, throw out all “unaligned” and then use that file and realign to the V4 region? In my brain, this feels like a logical approach but I am unsure how to execute it.

So far I have run DADA2 and generated summary tables from that. Any suggestions on how to proceed would be amazing!

Thank you so much
Brittany

Hi @bmb22!

So you want to analyze data from both regions together? Some notes:

1. Have you seen this topic thread?

2. You basically have three options.

3. See also this thread.