Issue with Paired End Reads/Demultiplexing- qzv overview and quality score plot missing samples?

Hello everyone!

I’m very new to qiime2, and I’ve been running into an issue demultiplexing my sequence data. When I take my data through a EMP paired ends concatenation and demultiplexing process, the resulting qzv file, which should show me an overview and quality score for 50 sequences only shows me three sequences… I’m wondering where the other 47 went?

Essentially, I’ve been working with a sample that contains sequences for 50 sample (each has a forward, reverse and barcode associated with them).

The order of commands I took were:

1. I imported data from our remote illumina server into our campus remote qiime2 server:
    mv ORIGINALFILENAME.fastq.gz forward.fastq.gz
    mv ORIGINALFILENAME.fastq.gz reverse.fastq.gz
    mv ORIGINALFILENAME.fastq.gz barcodes.fastq.gz

I saved these in their own directory folder.

2.I imported my mapping file as a .txt file and changed it into a .tsv file type.
-I saved this in a level about my directory folder containing the forward, reverse and barcode reads.

1. I concatenated this data:
    qiime tools import
    –type EMPPairedEndSequences
    –input-path DIRECTORY
    –output-path FILENAME.qza

2. I demultiplexed data:
    qiime demux emp-paired
    –m-barcodes-file FILENAME.tsv
    –m-barcodes-category BarcodeSequence
    –i-seqs FILENAME.qza
    –o-per-sample-sequences demux
    –p-rev-comp-mapping-barcodes

3. I visualized this qza file:
    qiime demux summarize
    –i-data demux.qza
    –o-visualization demux.qzv

4. I copied this qzv file to my desktop and visualized it in the qiime2 viewer website… this is where I noticed only 3 samples came up and the other 47 were missing.

What we have done to trouble shoot:

1. We know from qiime1 workflow with this set that there isn’t an issue with the mapping file, at least that we are aware of.