Importing tool cli issue

Hello there!
I am a very beginner user of Qiime2 and I am new at the programing language at all. I am trying to learn Qiime2.
I am now following the “Moving pictures tutorial”. All goods till the step “Obtaining and importing data”.
When I type the following command
qiime tools import
–type EMPSingleEndSequences
–input-path emp-single-end-sequences
–output-path emp-single-end-sequences.qza

the terminal says "no such command “import --type” but when I type the same command without “–type” it says missing options “–type”

Maybe this seems a basic question for the most of you, but did someone face this issue before?
Could you please tell me where do I make a mistake?
just in case, can you please suggest me any other equipment to learn programing language?

Thank you for your attention and your help!
Best wishes

Hi @chiara! Thanks so much for writing, and sorry to hear you are having some difficulties. It looks like you ran the following command:

qiime tools import
  --type EMPSingleEndSequences
  --input-path emp-single-end-sequences
  --output-path emp-single-end-sequences.qza

but what is missing is the \ (backslash) character to tell your shell that you are splitting one command over multiple lines (this is how most/all of the command examples in the docs are formatted). Generally speaking, when you run a command (any command, not just QIIME 2) on the command line, you run one command per line. The backslash is used to indicate when a command is spread out over multiple lines:

qiime tools import \
  --type EMPSingleEndSequences \
  --input-path emp-single-end-sequences \
  --output-path emp-single-end-sequences.qza

(note the trailing slashes at the ends of the lines, this tells your shell to join the lines together when running the command)

Alternatively, you could format it in one line:

qiime tools import --type EMPSingleEndSequences --input-path emp-single-end-sequences --output-path emp-single-end-sequences.qza