Importing 3 Casava 1.8 files

Hi! I am very new to Qiime2, and I have received 16S MiSeq data that I need to analyze. I received 3 files from the sequencing center - titled 5730-P1_S1_L001_I1_001, 5730-P1_S1_L001_R1_001 and 5730-P1_S1_L001_R2_001 so I assumed it is in Casava 1.8 format however I am still confused as to the files I got - I haven’t found topics on the forums showing how to correctly import using I1, R1 and R2.

I tried importing the R1 and R2 through Casava 1.8, viewed the quality plot, selected the trimming length and ran dada2, but I received an error message
An error was encountered while running DADA2 in R (return code -9), please inspect stdout and stderr to learn more.

I did it because I thought my data was already demultiplexed by the center but then I noticed that demux.qzv showed just 1 sample while there should be 45. Here is the quality plot. So this means that my data is multiplexed, right? Then how should I proceed?

Thank you and Merry Christmas!

Uploading: VirtualBox_QIIME 2 Core - 2019.7 (1564697331)_24_12_2019_23_04_00.png…

Hi @Tym!

Actually, it looks like you have multiplexed EMP-style reads (Casava 1.8 is a demultiplexed format):

https://docs.qiime2.org/2019.10/tutorials/importing/#emp-protocol-multiplexed-paired-end-fastq

Take a look at the link above and let us know how it goes!
:t_rex:

1 Like

Thank you! But how do I extract barcodes, forward and reverse reads from those files?

I just had a similar problem and followed the instructions on the protocol.

I found that I needed to rename the files first after gzip compression as follows: “forward” (for R1), “reverse” (R1) and “barcodes” (for I) with all of them having the fastq.gz extension.

After that import them as EMPPairedEndSequences and then demultiplex them.

1 Like

Thanks! I actually tried that but got an error for demultiplexing. And I also thought that R1 and R2 files contain both forward and reverse reads each just for two runs?