how to access files with docker?

HI

I am new to using QIIME2 on docker. What I don’t understand is I have my raw files on desktop of my computer. I am using a Mac. I access QIIME2 from the mac terminal by using this command.

docker run --rm -it \
    -u $(id -u):$(id -g) \
    -v $(pwd):/data \
    qiime2/core:2018.11 \
        /bin/bash

WHat I don’t understand is how to access my raw files which I need to analyse. how to read them in to QIIME2 not he docker and once I analyse them where is the docker saving them, how can I access them,

please help

Hi @Huda_Ghori!

I strongly recommend using the native installation on mac (link), it will be much less work for you.

See this line?

You're telling docker, "Hey, load up all of the files in my current working directory, and put them into the "/data" directory inside of the docker container."

So, when you run this command, the /bin/bash at the end of the command tells docker to launch a bash shell. You can cd /data, and if you run ls, you will see all of your files there. You can now work on those files, and any edits or changes will be synchronized on your host machine (the mac).

Hope that helps!

:qiime2:

HI
I have installed QIIME2 natively on my Mac and I am running it on an instance. However, on the very first step i am getting the Errno 28 error that say no space left on the device. The error is as follows. Please help to resolve it. :frowning:

(qiime2-2020.2) ubuntu@microbiome:/analysis$ qiime tools import --type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]' --input-path /analysis/tomove --input-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt --output-path SM_16S.qza

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/ubuntu/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2020.2/lib/python3.6/shutil.py", line 122, in copyfile
    copyfileobj(fsrc, fdst)
  File "/home/ubuntu/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2020.2/lib/python3.6/shutil.py", line 82, in copyfileobj
    fdst.write(buf)
OSError: [Errno 28] No space left on device