Feature-table downstream processes

Hello,
I’m totally new in qiime2 environment. I had installed qiime in my computer and recently I completed the “moving pictures tutorial”. So, A collaborator sent me a Biom file and metadata file (txt type), I had imported both into qiime2 and I have created a “feature-table.qza” artifact, but now I dont sure what I need to do to continue, since I’m interested in knowing the taxonomy and the relative abundance in my samples. Can you help me please?
All suggestions will be appreciate.
Thanks!

Hi @LuisFelipe,

Welcome to QIIME2!
Looks like you’re onto a good start! As you have your QIIME2 FeatureTable[Frequency] artifact you should be able to perform taxonomic analyses following this portion of the Moving Pictures tutorial: taxonomic analysis. Now, the question is if your data in a BIOM table comes from a denoising technique (e.g. DADA2 or Deblur) or if it comes from closed-reference OTU picking. In the former case, you need to assign taxonomy to your sequences first. If you already have the taxonomy (note, it needs to be imported as a separate artifact), then you don’t need to do the classification.

As for the second part of your question, what exactly do you mean by relative abundance? If you mean differential abundance (e.g. what microbes are different between “healthy” and “sick” groups), you can use ANCOM.

hope this helps!

Tomasz

Hello @tomasz thank you for your help. Actually I have tried to follow this part of the tutorial (Taxonomic analysis), however in this part required me a feature-table [sequence] (rep-seqs.qza) to add to “gg-13-8-99-515-806-nb-classifier.qza” but as you know, I only have a feature-table [frequency] and metadata file.
I’m not sure what method (Denoising or OTU picking) my collaborator had used but is probably that the second one (I will ask), If so it, how command I must run to see taxonomy? If not, is possible to assign taxonomy to feature-table [frequency] artifact? what I need to do?