Effect of not preparing data before DADA2

Hello,

This is my first time working with this type of data and I’m very happy that this forum exists. Amazing community you guys have here!

I’m trying to run a “meta-analysis” by downloading 16S sequences from NCBI. Because I’m running the analysis on a lot of information it’s hard to know or check if the information I’m using is homogeneous.
Obviously, I’m filtering the data to get the same Instrument, to make sure they are 16S, etc.

My data pipeline is working but I want to make sure I’m getting the right results.

Specifically for denoising with DADA2:

• What happens if non-biological sequences are present?
  • What happens if I decide not to trim the sequences? I assume that the sequences are discarded if they have sub-optimal quality. I’ve tried using the p-trunc-q parameter but anything >10 yields almost no sequences passing the test. 2 (default) and 5 seems to work.

After all the process I get around 5000 sequences assigned to taxa (about 290 unique groups)… is that a normal number? I’m analysing soil data, using Greengenes_97 as a reference. I ask just to have a reference.

Thanks.

Hi @spadarian,

Welcome to the community! All great questions here.

Don't worry about it too much — dada2 will remove any chimeric sequences, and you can do other things (e.g., run qiime quality-control exclude-seqs or use q2-feature-insertion) to filter out sequences that do not resemble your reference sequences. The one problem you should worry about is whether your reads contain partial biological partial non-biological, e.g., if you have issues with read-through or you have adapters in your reads for other reasons. You can use q2-cutadapt to trim your primers and any adapters from your reads to prevent this from occurring.