diversity differences using pretrained classifiers

Hi Everyone!
I performed a taxonomic classification using a trained classifier by my own. I used the gg-13-8 97% (I can’t train a 99% classifier because of memory problems). I obtained a really nice barplot. But then I used the pretrained gg-13-8-99-515-806-nb-classifier.qza (which matches with my primers) and obtained a barplot with more species level classification but with a lot less diversity. I wanted to use a pretrained SILVA classifier to compare but a message error from memory keeps appearing. Any suggestions on which data should I use? Because I thought a trained classifier from my own would be the best, but I have more diversity with a 97% than with a 99%. I am pretty new with this.
Thanks!

Hi @Melisa_Olivelli,

Okay, i might be a stickler, but I’m not sure what you mean by “more diversity” on the barchart. (Barcharts don’t display diversity, they show you composition? But if we’re being sticklers, alpha/beta == diversity & composition == composition. Collapsed diversity is probably less informative than feature-level diversity?? You can’t do phylogenetic diversity on a collapsed table???)

I would look at the classification accuracy when you consider this: how well does your sequence classify? I also tend to stick to higher specificity references (99 vs 97) because they should be more precise. (That said, “species” is a whole weird thing in microbiology.) So, I guess, my suggestion is that you use a 99% classifier. I think you may have an easier time publishing with Silva, but its definitely bigger and more memory intensive.