Cannot merge rep-seqs.qza files from different samples with "qiime feature-table merge-seq-data"

Hello, I am new to Qiime 2 and even do not have any bioinformatics background. I learn everything from the online tutorial and the forum. I really appreciate all these information that I can use to training myself.

I tried to use Casava 1.8 to import my paired-end demultiplexed fastq files and follow the “Atacama soil microbiome” tutorial to continue my analysis. However, as addressed by others, I got similar issues with data2 to analyze my paired end demultiplexed data (2 fastq files per sample for 7 samples in total ).

After searching on the forum, I decided to do the analysis individually. For now, I have got 7 table.qza files and 7 rep-seqs.qza files. I can merge those table.qza files successfully by following the “Merging denoised data” in the Fecal microbiota transplant (FMT) study. However, I keep getting error message when I try to merge those rep-seqs.qza files.

Here is what I did:

$ qiime feature-table merge-seq-data \
>   --i-data1 EUFsoil-01-dada2-rep-seqs.qza \
>   --i-data2 EUFsoil-02-dada2-rep-seqs.qza \
>   --o-merged-data merged-rep-seqs.qza

Here are messages that I got:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/sue0210/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2017.10/bin/qiime", line 6, in <module>
    sys.exit(q2cli.__main__.qiime())
  File "/home/sue0210/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2017.10/lib/python3.5/site-packages/click/core.py", line 722, in __call__
    return self.main(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/home/sue0210/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2017.10/lib/python3.5/site-packages/click/core.py", line 697, in main
    rv = self.invoke(ctx)
  File "/home/sue0210/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2017.10/lib/python3.5/site-packages/click/core.py", line 1066, in invoke
    return _process_result(sub_ctx.command.invoke(sub_ctx))
  File "/home/sue0210/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2017.10/lib/python3.5/site-packages/click/core.py", line 1066, in invoke