ANCOM visualization

Hi everyone, I'm new to QIIME2 though I've been using QIIME for a long time. One of the main reasons I finally made the transition was that I wanted to use ancom to explore my otu/taxa tables in a way that was independent of relative abundances. When I run ancom get the following visualization artefact- a few statistically significant features, but no volcano plot. Will ancom not generate a plot when only a few otus are significantly enrichedl6-ancom-Type.qzv (39.0 KB)

Hi Everyone,

I’m having the same issue here when analyzing my data.

Thanks,
FS.

@duderostome looks like there is a problem in generating the volcano plot. But it is hard to tell what the problem is without looking at the command / files.

Do you have the command / files used to generate this plot readily available?

Sure, here’s the relevant ancom commands, I’ve run several filtered datasets through a bash loop (hence the variables).

qiime feature-table filter-samples --i-table otu-table.qza --m-metadata-file Combinemaps2.txt --p-where "Site='$i'" --o-filtered-table "$i"-table.qza

qiime composition add-pseudocount --i-table "$i"-table.qza --o-composition-table comp-"$i"-table.qza

qiime composition ancom --i-table comp-"$i"-table.qza --m-metadata-file Combinemaps2.txt --p-transform-function log --m-metadata-category Type --o-visualization ancom-Type.qzv

qiime taxa collapse --i-table "$i"-table.qza --i-taxonomy All2_otus_tax_assignments.qza --p-level 6 --o-collapsed-table "$i"-table-l6.qza

qiime composition add-pseudocount --i-table "$i"-table-l6.qza --o-composition-table comp-"$i"-table-l6.qza
qiime composition ancom --i-table comp-"$i"-table-l6.qza --p-transform-function log --m-metadata-file Combinemaps2.txt --m-metadata-category Type --o-visualization l6-ancom-Subject.qzv

Hello Matthew,

This might not make any difference, but on your final command, I noticed that the variable was not included in the output:
--o-visualization l6-ancom-Subject.qzv